UK Dacia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, picked up sandero Sunday, was passing dealers today, went in to seek advice on eco button, eh got told just press it, When do I use it???

·
Registered
153 Posts
As I understand it, the ECO button changes how the engine runs.

It basically takes a bit of oomph away and you get better distance for your fuel.

I drive with it on pretty much all the time and only take it off when I need a bit more oomph, motorway driving or overtaking etc.

·
Premium Member
886 Posts
Eco can be used anytime you don't think you will want maximum performance.
Off gives the priority to performance
On gives the priority to economy.

I'm still learning too but I believe the shift light comes on at a different point between the two settings. I've no idea if it runs a completely different fuel map or not but I suspect it does but please don't take that as gospel.

Play about with it and see if you notice any performance/ financial gains. Might not be too noticeable during the running in period as you'll be keeping the revs down just now anyway.

·
Premium Member
759 Posts
On my wifes Sandero 0.9 you can certainly notice the difference, the acceleration is cut quite considerably with eco on but strangely you don't seem to suffer with quite as bigger lag on the second gear pick up?

So conversely to what I thought would make sense we tend to run with the eco on on motorway etc when cruising and turn it off for getting around towns when you need proper acceleration for roundabouts and junctions etc

Running in period? My belief is that today's engines are manufactured to tolerances where running in is a thing of the past, if not whoops for our two Dacia's

·
Registered
535 Posts
On my wifes Sandero 0.9 you can certainly notice the difference, the acceleration is cut quite considerably with eco on but strangely you don't seem to suffer with quite as bigger lag on the second gear pick up?