UK Dacia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I spent this afternoon fitting reversing sensors to my 4x4 Access Duster. I tapped into the left side rear lights. I took 1 live feed from the reversing light and what I thought was a negative ground for the sensor box. All worked well till tonight - the sensors didn't work when the lights were turned on???
Does anyone know where I went wrong? - should I have taken the negative side of the sensors box to its own ground contact instead of trying to use the lights wiring?
As you can see I'm no electrician and the wiring diagramme on here goes right over my head.

·
Premium Member
886 Posts
Do you have a test lamp or multi-meter? With lights on check if you ground is actually a ground or giving you 12v. I suspect it is a 12v feed.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your comment. I do have a multi-meter and used it to identify the live feed to the reversing light. I will try grounding the sensor control box to the car body - I may have to use a self tapping screw because there is no obvious earth point near the light cluster.
Thanks again for your help.

·
Premium Member
886 Posts
No problem. I know that the illumination circuit at the car radio loom acts like a ground until the lights are switched on then its 12v+. There will be a ground at the lighting loom for sure. I would Ignore the colours and just use the meter to confirm then put on the lights and re check. Simples.
hope you get it sorted.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Just for the record - I connected the sensor control box to its own earth and all worked.
(It was tricky finding somewhere that acted as a ground - I used the jack holder screw fitting)
Thanks for your help

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hi - I was wondering which part of the rear bumber you drilled for the sensors, the black part or the body coloured part.

Thanks.

·
Registered
95 Posts