UK Dacia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 108 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Our Logan was due its first service and when I found out that they wanted to charge almost £200 for what is essentially an oil change I almost died. I've worked on family cars for years and I've worked up quite a collection of tools and skills, however I think if you have the necessary skills to drive a car or follow a cooking recipe, you can also change your oil.

DISCLAIMER:

IF YOU CREATE A PROBLEM AFTER FOLLOWING THIS GUIDE YOU MAY VOID YOUR WARRANTY.

However, if you do it professionally using genuine Renault parts it will be fine. I'm not a professional, I just have experience doing this. Use your best judgement and seek advice from professionals when in doubt.

The process exactly the same on many other Renault products however I am working on the 0.9L TCE engine on a Logan MCV. I believe it is exactly the same process on the Sandero (Stepway too) with the 0.9L engine and very similar on the Renault Captur, Clio and any other application of the H4Bt engine.

I went to the local dealership to get GENUINE parts. I'm mentioning this because in the past I've always used other brands on second hand cars but buying genuine wasn't really much more expensive.

Oil - £28.28

Filter - £10.36

Sump washer - £0.30

Plus VAT on those prices. (correct as of April 2015).

Car Land vehicle Vehicle registration plate Vehicle Wheel

My Toyota looking out of place amongst the Renaults, Nissans and Dacia.

So I also bought some coolant. This is what everything looks like

Automotive tire Fluid Liquid Gas Automotive wheel system

The cartridge style oil filter. This is my first time working on a car that uses this type of filter. Japanese cars tend to use the spin-on ones I guess.

Tire Motor vehicle Automotive tire Light Automotive design

Engine bay shot

Vehicle Hood Car Motor vehicle Automotive battery

OK so with the engine stone cold, we can begin...