UK Dacia Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I am looking for insurance for my coming Sandero. I have been driving for 17 years (Spain), but I've never had my own car, nor held any insurance nor appeared anywhere as registered driver, so...

fact 1: I don't have any proof for "no claims".

Two years ago I ran over a big animal causing severe damage to the car. The accident is not yet settled (slow Justice in Spain) but the claim was, give or take, 1600€. The holder of the insurance wasn't me and I wasn't registered as usual driver of the car. Nevertheless, the car was legally insured.

fact 2: I have never claimed anything to an insurer as I have never been nominally insured.

fact 3: I had an accident in last 5 years.

So now I invoke your wisdom :p :

When insurers ask about previous claims, should that accident be considered as a claim?

As "no claims" certificates from abroad insurers are no considered/accepted, I guess claims to abroad insurers are not within the question, are they?

Thank you!

(FYI Cheapest quotes I'm getting are around £700)

·
Super Moderator
2,832 Posts
The thing about insurance companies is, if you don't tell them everything they might need to know they are quite happy to take your money. Then when you have a claim they say your insurance was not valid because you didn't tell them everything, they don't pay out and you get prosecuted for not having valid insurance! Seeing as you can be billed for things like Ambulances, repairs to the motorway, third party liability, it could get very expensive.

Don't they usually ask about accidents as well as claims? I think its safer to give them all the facts and then let them decide if its relevant or you risk having no insurance.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I agree with you, I want to give them all the details they want to know so the insurance contract is properly stablished. Lying is absolutely pointless.