UK Dacia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Today I was up near Carlisle in the sticks, had a hell of a job finding a garage and I was getting low on fuel for my return journey as this journey wasn`t planned.

I went in a small garage and just put £15 quid in as I get my fuel cheaper near home. I joked with the owner, Wow I said, it`s expensive up here man (£119 a ltr) I said I get mine from Asda, I asked him how long had it been over £1 a ltre up here, lol

Anyway he told me I would have problems with my injectors getting fouled up with Supermarket fuel and said I would be sorry buying from them, I didn`t say anything, I have heard this before.

Now then, I used to be a BP tanker Driver and on the west side of the country there is only a Shell refinery and on the East is BP refinery, I don`t think you can buy fuel from any other place, we had an agreement, where we buy from Shell they buy from Bp it wouldn`t be viable trapesing across the country, I guess.

When in the q`s at the refineries in a morning waiting to fill the tanker, there was always a Q of tankers such as Asda, Tesco, Esso, etc loads more, you name it they were in the Q, we all drew the fuel from the same pumps. So How come there fuel is worse, am I missing something?

Do their drivers stop and have to drop water or dirt into them before they deliver?

Just wondered what they do that I don`t know about that makes the supermarkets fuels inferior, any ideas?

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I didn`t go, I ended up in hospital for a week 2 days before, Kidney stone, back in hospital 9th June to zap it then have to replan my trip again. Of course it will cost more in the higher season

·
Registered
1,396 Posts